AAP Academic Advisors

Prof. Carlo Fonseka

Professor Carlo Fonseka, MBBS (Cey) PhD. (Edin) MA(Kelaniya), Fellow of the Ceylon College of Physicians (h.c.) is Professor Emeritus of Physiology in the University of Colombo and the University of Kelaniya . He taught in the Colombo Medical School from 1962 to 1989 and in the Faculty of Medicine, University of Kelaniya from 1991 to 1998. He was Founder Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Kelaniya . Apart from his deep involvement in Medical Science, he has been active in the popularization of Science and in the field of popular sinhala music. He has published in both national and international journals. From 1994 to-date he has been a member of the University Grants Commission.




Prof. Lakshman R. Watawala

Prof. Lakshman R Watawala is the Chairman, Board of Investment. Deputy Chairman, Gestetner ( Ceylon ) Ltd. , Director, Richard Peiris & Co. Ltd.Director, Asian Alliance Insurance Co. Ltd and a Committee Member of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce. He is also the President, Society of Certified Management Accountants of Sri Lanka.

Prof. Watalawala has formerly held the positions of the Chairman & Director-General of the Board of Investment of Sri Lanka, Chairman, People’s Bank & People’s Merchant Bank . He has served the Ministry of Finance as an advisor. Prof. Watawala who is the founder President of AAT Sri Lanka, is the past President of Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka , South Asian Federation of Accountants (SAFA) and the Organisation of Professional Associations of Sri Lanka (OPA).


Prof Anoma S. P. Abhayaratne

Prof Anoma Abhayaratne, is currently holding the position of Professor in Economics, Department of Economics and Statistics, University of Peradeniya, in, Sri Lanka. During the period 2009-2012, she served as the Dean of the Faculty of Arts at the same University, claiming to be the First Lady Dean, to the Arts Faculty. She possesses qualifications in PhD in Economics, University of Essex, UK. MA in Econometrics, University of Essex, UK. MPhil in Agriculture Economics, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka, Postgraduate Diploma in Computing, University of Bradford, UK , BA in Economics Honors (Second Class, Upper Division), University of Peradeniya Sri Lanka.

Her experience other than an academic, counts as a Short term Consultant, at UNDP Regional Centre, Colombo, Sri Lanka,World Bank, Colombo, Sri Lanka,Path Finder Foundation, Colombo, Sri Lanka and Plan Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka
She has been accolade with Academic Honours and Awards from “Commonwealth Postdoctoral Fellowship for academic Staff” by the Association of Commonwealth Universities in the UK., Asia Fellowship” by the Asia Scholarship Foundation, Bangkok, Thailand, “Asia Fellowship Follow-up Grant” by the Asia Scholarship Foundation, Bangkok, Thailand, “Commonwealth Postgraduate Scholarship” by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK, “British Technical Co-operation Award” by the British Council, UK “P. D. Khan Gold Medal” by the University of Peradeniya for the most outstanding performance at Special Arts Degree in Economics in 1983, “University Scholarship” by the University of Peradeniya for the best results at the first year examination at the Faculty of Arts, University of Peradeniya in 1980, and “M F Khan Prize for Greatest Competence” award to the student who obtains highest aggregate marks over all courses at the first year examination, by the University of Peradeniya in 1980.

She joins Academy for Administrative Professionals as an Hony Academic Advisor from November 2014.


Deshabandu Tilak De Zoysa

hfuA well-known figure in the Sri Lankan business community, Tilak de Zoysa, FCMI (UK) FPRI (SL), Honorary Consul for Croatia and Global Ambassador for HelpAge International was conferred the title of “Deshabandu” by His Excellency the President of Sri Lanka in recognition of his services to the country and was the recipient of “The Order of the Rising Sun. Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon” conferred by His Majesty the Emperor of Japan.
In addition to being the Chairman of the Supervisory Board and Advisor to the Al-Futtaim Group of Companies in Sri Lanka, he Chairs Carsons Cumberbatch PLC, Amaya Hotels and Resorts USA (Radisson), AMW Capital Leasing and Finance PLC, Jetwing Zinc Journey Lanka (Pvt) Ltd and HelpAge Sri Lanka.
He is also the Vice Chairman of Ceat Kelani Holdings (Pvt) Ltd., Orient Insurance Ltd. and serves on the boards of several listed and private companies which include John Keells PLC, Taj Lanka Hotels PLC, TAL Hotels and Resorts Ltd, Lanka Walltiles PLC, Nawaloka Hospitals PLC, Dutch Lanka Trailer Manufacturers (Tata Group), Eastern Merchants PLC, Associated Electrical Corporation Ltd., Inoac Polymer Lanka (Pvt) Ltd., Cinnovation INC., GVR Lanka (Pvt) Ltd and Varun Beverages Lanka (Pvt) Ltd (Pepsi).
He is a past Chairman of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce, the National Chamber of Commerce of Sri Lanka, HelpAge International (UK) and served as Member of the Monetary Board of Sri Lanka (2003-2009).
Deshabandu Tilak de Zoysa was a special invitee at the inauguration of the AAP in 2005 and since then he had been a great strength to the academy. AAP is honoured and privileged to welcome him as an Hony Academic Advisor of AAP; effective November 2014.